London tube bans 11 LGBTQ enemy countries

Transport for London (TfL), has suspended advertising from 11 countries with poor human rights records.

London’s Evening Standard newspaper revealed the suspension today. Countries impacted include Iran, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen. All of them have the death penalty for consensual gay sex.

The other countries suspended from advertising are Pakistan, Qatar, the UAE, Mauritania and Afghanistan. According to ILGA, these countries have ‘possible’ death penalties. For example, certain parts of these countries adhere to Sharia law and the death penalty may apply to Muslims only.

Examples of advertising campaigns from these countries that have featured on TfL include those from Pakistan Tourism, Emirates airline and Qatar Airways.